Tuesday, July 27, 2010

Past Ball's Rewind - 1991

With 5 no-hitters so far in 2010 - wait, let's just call it 6 with Gallarraga's perfecto - dominant pitching is officially back.  This is the most since 1991 when there were 7, so to celebrate Matt Garza's no-hitter last night, let's take a stroll down memory lane and take a look at the 1991 season to see how things panned out and who were the newsmakers back then.

7 no-hitters
In July, Mark Gardner and Dennis Martinez, both playing for the Montreal Expos no-hit the Dodgers twice in three days. Martinez's no-hitter was a perfect game, though Gardner lost his no-no in the tenth. Amazing.
Two team combined for no-hitters - the Orioles vs. the A's on July 13 and the Braves vs. the Padres September 11.
The others were Tommy Greene, Wilson Alvarez, Bret Saberhagen, and of course, the one and only Nolan Ryan pitched his 7th and final no-hitter.

Twins win World Series
Who can forget Kirby's HR in Game 6 and Jack Morris' 1-0 gem to clinch Game 7?  Great stuff, produced things like this classic song. Maybe a repeat performance in 2010?

Hitting Machines
Julio Franco, with a .341 average, became the first Texas Ranger to win a batting title. His Ranger teammates, Ruben Sierra and Rafael Palmeiro, joined Franco to give Texas a trio of 200-hit men.

NL MVP - Terry Pendleton
AL MVP - Cal Ripken, Jr.
NL Cy Young - Tom Glavine

AL Cy Young - Roger Clemens
NL Rookie of the Year - Jeff Bagwell
AL Rookie of the Year - Chuck Knoblauch

No comments:

Post a Comment